Adult Swim’s Garage Swim


Continuing the precedent of Adult Swim’s dedication to bring you amazingly good compilations for free, 2013 has brought us the filthy stomp of Garage Swim. Who can say no to such a fine bunch of musicians, as per this track listing below:

1. Bass Drum of Death – “Dregs”
2. Apache Dropout – “Constant Plaything”
3. Thee Oh Sees – “Devil Again”
4. King Tuff – “She’s on Fire”
5. JEFF the Brotherhood – “Melting Place”
6. Black Lips – “Cruising”
7. King Khan and the Gris Gris – “Discreate Disguise”
8. Mikal Cronin – “Better Man”
9. Mind Spiders – “They Lie”
10. Cheap Time – “Kill the Light”
11. King Louie’s Missing Monuments – “Covered in Ice”
12. OBN IIIs – “A Good Lover”
13. The Gories – “On the Run”
14. King Khan – “Strange Ways”
15. Weekend – “Teal Kia”

Download the compilation over at As well, check out 2 video features on Mikal Cronin and King Tuff by Yours Truly while you’re there.

Currently, they’re in the midst of the Adult Swim 2013 Singles Program.


This year’s collection has tracks from Run The Jewels (Killer Mike & EL-P), Metz, Autre Ne Veut, MadLib, Mac DeMarco, Lightning Bolt, Lil B, Captain Murphy, Pig Destroyer. Free downloads will be doled out weekly over the course of the summer.

Previous Williams St. Records complinations include:

Metal Swim
African Swim
Ghostly Swim
The 2012 Singles Program
The 2011 Singles Program
The 2010 Singles Program

Free The Robots – “Select/Start”

This year LA’s beatsmith Free The Robots finally released his new full length Ctrl Alt Delete on Alpha Pup Records. After a string of The standout track that shuffle seems to compelled to make me listen to is ‘Select/Start’, where the loping Coleco arpeggios wrap themselves around a barrage of other sinewave synths. Running up the spine is a clean beat full of claps and crackle that unifies the song. I listen to one of the other big post-breaks releases of the year like Flying Lotus’ Cosmogramma and am severely disappointed, Ctrl Alt Delete saves the day.


Ctrl Alt Delete was released March 30th, 2010 via Alpha Pup. You can get it digitally from iTunes and on vinyl from Bleep.

Craft Spells – ‘Party Talk’

Craft Spells – Party Talk

This song quickly charmed me with the right mix of mood and melody. Craft Spells utilizes a simple bit of rhythm coupled with hazy backup vocals to make a song that is headnoddingly good. The Stockton, California duo of Justin Vallesteros and Frankie Soto have just signed to Captured Tracks, also the home of equally good Wild Nothing and will release a 7″ on September 21st. The vinyl will feature the A-side ‘Party Talk’ and the B-side will be a track titled ‘Ramona.’

Follow Craft Spells on Twitter.

Acid Washed – Acid Washed (Danger Remix)

Record Makers has brought us a fantastic remix of French house duo Acid Washed‘s self titled track. It’s a great bit of sci-fi styled, harpsichord driven space electro. The remix is off the forthcoming single, to be released by Record Makers on September 17th. Accompanying the Danger remix there will be additional remixes from The Hacker, Daniel Haaksman and Mickey Moonlight.


New Blog Aggregator: We Are Hunted

While not necessarily new, as it launched in April of 2009, We Are Hunted a recent discovery of mine. It functions similarly to Elbows and Hype Machine, but chooses to do so in a more pleasing visual style. It’s all well coded and quite self contained, clicking on links brings up a player that will not interrupt your further exploration of the site.

It’s not entirely clear where they pull their stats, it does present an interesting mix of new and interesting music. In the copy on the site, it says that they aggregate via “blogs, social networks, forums, P2P networks and Spotify” (the latter being the only thing that can make someone in the US feel the frustrations of potential Hulu users in the UK). Supposedly, there’s some proprietary “clustering algorithms” going on behind the scenes. Either way, what is provided is a great variety that can I’ve found myself leaving on as background music.

You can add your blog should you be someone with content to share, but I have come across a few issues in adding this lovely site. I’m thinking it could be an issue with FeedBurner RSS feeds…maybe someone from We Are Hunted could look into that. *wink wink*

Regardless, from an end user experience, We Are Hunted is good way to explore the new.